Saludecio, a journey through history and a Galleria d’arte en Plein Air

Saludecio, immersed in the lush nature of the Conca Valley, still preserves its medieval structure and presents itself with a maze of alleys surrounded by walls and its two monumental gates of access and defence.


The journey begins here, at Marina Gate 14th century, a wonderful tower structure with a pointed arch that leads to the town. This is the main entrance gate to the town, a beautiful structure dating back to the time of Sigismondo Pandolfo Malatesta, which, with the nearby buildings, gives us an idea of what the fortifications of the town must have been like; above it stands the 16th-century coat of arms of the municipality of Saludecio.


Passing through Porta Marina, you come to Piazza Santo Amato Ronconi, where you will find the most important buildings in the city, such as the imposing Church of San Biagio, built at the end of the 18th and beginning of the 19th centuries on the ruins of the old 14th century parish church. 


Opposite the church is the  Town Hall Houses in the ancient Malatesta fortress, where - in the former prisons - the Risorgimento exhibition/museum dedicated to Giuseppe Garibaldi is housed.

The exhibition contains unique exhibits from collector Michele Ottaviani, who has collected memorabilia from all over the world, making it one of the most important exhibitions in Italy.


Along Via Roma, Saludecio reveals its more modern soul, with the appearance of beautiful 16th- and 19th-century stately palazzi. First of all, the splendid Palazzo Albini with its Urbino-style courtyard, where General Giuseppe Garibaldi was hosted for a night during his visit to Romagna in 1859.
Continuing on, you will find the Palazzo where Blessed Elisabetta Renzi was born, Palazzo Magi, Palazzo Zandri, Palazzo Albini-Suali and Palazzo Albini-Elisei, ancient residences of noble Saludeci families. 


This journey through history continues to the Civic Tower - dating back to the 14th century - that characterises the profile of Saludecio and is now used as a venue for temporary exhibitions.
Note the original scarp base and the municipal coat of arms in sandstone. A Risorgimento plaque is set here, commemorating the day of 22 June 1822, when the citizens of Saludecio declared papal rule to have ceased forever.


Of great artistic importance is the Saludecio and Santo Amato Museum and the Beloved Saint, a treasure chest of art that houses furnishings, vestments, liturgical ornaments, devotional objects and votive offerings bearing witness to the cult of the Saint.

The museum is divided into three rooms, and it is in the first that we find important altar pieces from the numerous churches in the Saludecio area, recovered and saved before the diaspora caused by the Napoleonic confiscations. Notable among these is the painting depicting the Procession of the Blessed Sacrament (1628) by Guido Cagnacci, the most important interpreter of the 17th century in Rimini.
Another of his works, The Ecstasy of St. Sixtus (1628), is kept in the museum.


Opposite Porta Marina, fortified but less imposing, we find Porta Montanara built to defend the village.
The gate, also of medieval origin, is smaller, bare and narrow and was intended as a defence against the arrival of enemies.

Finally, colouring the town of Saludecio are its 51 murals that have made it unique and unforgettable, visited throughout the year by thousands of people who are enchanted by the subjects, colours and symbols painted.
Saludecio is a member of the ASSIPAD National Association and is reported as the 'City of Painted Walls'. All the murals created are inspired by the 19th century in which Saludecio experienced its most important historical period, and today presents itself as a colourful and original museum en Plein Air that winds its way through the alleys and small squares of the historic centre. Because of these valuable characteristics, Saludecio today is one of the leading members of AssIPaD (Associazione Italiana Paesi Dipinti) and Res Tipica.